Chad’s 1970 Karmann Ghia

In spring of 2012, while I was in the process of finishing up my 72 convertible Karmann Ghia project, I decided to take on another project for my son Chad. He had recently been diagnosed with NF2 (Neurofibromatosis Type 2), had recently had his first brain surgery, and had some rough days ahead. He had always loved my first Ghia, a 1967, and it’s British Racing Green paint color. I started my search, and within a few days, I found a potential car in Seattle. I drove there, checked it out, and settled on a price of $1600.

ChadGhia

Over the next month and a half, I worked on the 70 Ghia for my son at the same time as finishing up my 72 vert.

931041

Prepping the body…

931040

Cleaned up and painted the pans….

923266

Replaced the transmission….

923600

Cleaned up the interior….

931039

Just about ready for paint….

938338

938337

938336

Chad admiring his freshly painted car….

949694

Chad’s finished 1970 Karmann Ghia. He loved this car!

957692

Chad’s inspiration for the look and color of his car was my 67 Ghia that I sold in 2001.

010310-003

#VWlife @My_VW_Life

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in My VW's, VW life

Leave a Reply

I fell in love with air-cooled Volkswagens over 30 years ago. I want to keep the love and passion for vintage VW's alive and share my stories with others.
